200 Words at a Time, Part One

This Chuck Wendig challenge classic is pretty awesome.  Each week you write a 200 hundred word part of a flash fiction.  But, you will borrow parts from other blogs.  So, I’m probably more excited than I need to be.  Here we go, the beginning of a tale.

The Beginning

Another shot glass slammed down as Toops flashed her big, black eyes at me.  “Are you going to black out.”  Her tone as dry as the desert planet we had left.

“I never black out. “  I grinned motioning for another shot.  “I’m only resting my eyes.”

 

Toops rolled her eyes and crossed her arms.   “Yeah, I believe you, Lancer.  I really do.”  Her scarred fingers pushed her still full glass back and forth across the metal bar top.  “Didn’t you say we have a man coming in to offer us a job?

“You handle all the contracts.  I’m your simple minded muscle.”  I winked at her.  “Me big man.  Me hit things hard.”  The burning fire scalded my throat as I took another shot.

Her hand snapped out faster than my eye could follow.  Those strong fingers crushed mine into my palm.  “Do not call for another shot.  I swear I will break your fingers right now.”

A hearty chuckle rumbled up my throat.  “Alright, alright boss lady.”

My fingers were released.  “We are partners.”

“You say that now, but once the client gets here you’ll change your tune.”  She couldn’t deny it.  It was true.

 

10 Comments

Filed under Babblings, Writing Challenges

10 responses to “200 Words at a Time, Part One

  1. Nicely done. At first I thought Toops was flashing something else. Also, I envy how you seem to so easily come up with names. A lot of my short fics have nameless protagonists because OMG WHAT DO I CALL THEM?

    I love a big dumb guy who’s not actually dumb. If I can’t find anything that interests me more, and I’m actually around at the end of this week, I may just continue it.

    • Random name generator on scrivener is my secretary weapon in the name game.

      • Haha, I love Scrivener, those corkboard notes make me feel all giddy inside. Must admit though, I’ve only played around with the name generator, and haven’t used it much myself. The down side of spending 80% of my writing life working on fanfcition, I suppose; most of the names are already there or need to have a specific setting-related influence!

      • I used Scrivener last year during nanowrimo and feel in love. I can’t imagine how I wrote anything without it.

  2. Pingback: 200 Words at a Time, Part Two | Fatma Alici

  3. Pingback: The Contract – Flash Fiction Challenge | Observations of The Urban Spaceman

  4. Pingback: Fiction: Untitled (part 4 of 5) – galactic mercs - Infinite Skies

  5. Pingback: TerribleMinds Flash Fiction – Proposed title: “Forgotten Fued” | Jeff Wrote It

  6. Pingback: 200 Words at a Time, The End | Fatma Alici

  7. Pingback: 200 Words at a Time, The End | The Many Worlds

Leave a comment