Review: God Save the Queen

God Save the Queen by Kate Locke

It took me a little while to settle into the Immortal Empire universe.  This is a good thing.  Too often it’s easy to rely on what’s been done before to set your world.  The writing community has gotten lots of wonderful books from that, but it’s fantastic to mix it up now and again.

Also, the fact I’m not much into punk fiction, or know pretty much nothing about London, besides important historical footnotes, was a slight barrier.  However, I could infer most of the meanings easily enough, and I never really felt lost.  This screams well-crafted to me.

The book itself did a lot of things that impressed me.  It actually surprised me here and there.  I’ve read a lot of books, and I usually can figure what’s happening, and when the tide is going to turn.  This time I was caught off guard several times.

I also enjoyed the strangeness of the world, I was transported to.  A plague ridden world where the have and have nots are strongly divided i all kinds of ways.

The main character is a blast to read.  Xandra shouldn’t be.  She’s a bigot. She’s way aggressive, and too impulsive.  Yet, she’s compelling, and has plenty of good points too.   She’s a very balanced character that is being molded by the events in the book.

This book is almost a book of series of What ifs? Which makes it really fun, because I often ask those sort of questions when I read.  In this world the royalty is better than the masses, because they are kick ass vampires, werewolves, or goblins.  As one of the masses, that sounds pretty much like the worst thing ever.  Imagine how easy would for them to lord anything over you.

“How come I don’t know have enough to eat?”  “You aren’t a noble obviously because the plague will kill you, where it turned me into a beautiful creature with super powers.”  Slap in the fact argument right there.

 

Instant sympathy from reader gets that goes around the main character, freakin’ slick writing right there.

Leave a comment

Filed under Review

Leave a Reply

