Review: Dead Weight: The Tombs

Dead Weight: The Tombs by M. Todd Gallowglas

Before I really dig in, let me say I really loved this novel.   It does things that most of the time would have made me put it down.   Yet, I didn’t care.  Gallowglas pulled off doing things that shouldn’t have worked.  Which is freakin’ cool. 

A protagonist I didn’t like, yet I cared about, hoped he’d succeed.   The story started off in a very weird way, (which to avoid spoilers, I won’t go into), and wasn’t part of the meat of the plot, but it worked beautifully. There were a lot of references thrown in, but none of it is overdone. And, frankly, I loved the concept of the arts being a way to look into another world. The tale is very dark, gritty, depressing, yet still manages to have a thread of hope running through it.   It truly feels like a mirror into another reality.

The novel manages to bring some very interesting concepts without beating you over the head with them.  What defines goodness, is one that I felt came up a lot.   Is it a person’s actions?  Is it what a person does? Is it their intentions?  Perhaps, it is a combination of all these things.  I don’t know.  The book doesn’t know either, but that’s what makes it interesting.

As I read another question occurred to me.  What does society lose when cultures change, are absorbed, and destroyed?  Is there really a loss? Should such things be preserved in some way?  I’m not sure the author intended me to think of that.  However, this book made lots of odd questions like that show up to plague me, in only the very best way.

An excellent start to what I hope will be a continuing book series.

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Review

One response to “Review: Dead Weight: The Tombs

  1. Pingback: M Todd Gallowglas » Dead Weight Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

