Flash Fiction: Trailer Park Ninja

The challenge this week Who, Where, and the Uh Oh.  Roll a d10 out of each column and we had up to 2,000 words.  However, I didn’t even use a thousand.  

Trailer Park Ninja

The work cell rang. I didn’t answer instead I used coded login on my laptop. The caved in face of my handler clicked into view. “Carvell, you have an assignment. You need to retrieve a package from this address.” The address flashed on the screen it was in Hobgood, my home base.

“What’s the package?” Package was a pretty loose term meaning anything that I needed to bring back.

“A metal case imprinted with the roman numeral nine. Another hostile agent has it. Arm well, walk soft we don’t need anyone to know you were there.” His thick brows twitched.

“Don’t worry, I’ll be as silent as a ninja.” Already my mind ran through all the weapons to take, and how to strap them in.

Immediately, those brows flattened my handler wasn’t pleased. “We don’t need any dead bodies, if you can help it.”

“Why send an assassin to do a job that you don’t need bodies?” Legit question, I wasn’t sure if he’d answer.

My handler jaw tensed. A full twenty seconds ticked by before he answered. “You are closest one to the location. It needs to be taken care of ASAP.”

I fought the urge to let out a sigh. When wasn’t it needed to ‘be taken care of ASAP.’ “Understood, anything else?”

He shook his head. “No, and good luck.” The screen went blank.

I strapped on my vest, my guns, put in my extra clips. A few clicks and I brought up the location on my cell. The place was nearly on the outskirts of town. I double checked my weapons, my armor before heading down my disposable street vehicle and headed out.

As I arrived at the location my brows went sky high. “A trailer park,” I muttered before I could contain myself. The large bulky box houses with gravel strewn between them. Little spokes of grass sticking up every which way. My nose wrinkled as I could smell wet animal fur. How the hell would I find a case in here? The indicator light blinked to my right. Apparently, someone was keeping sensitive materials in a trailer.

With a casual swagger as I made it up the door. A creak gave me enough time to jump sideways as the door exploded. Shards of wood slashed at my clothes as I rolled on the wet ground. The mud smeared across my body as I came up gun in hand. Tension tightened my shoulders and I made a conscious effort to relax. Two set steps and I rested against the wall of the trailer. I dropped down as a noise behind me. My body coated in wet thickness as I saw a cat prance past me tail high in the air.

“Stupid cat.” Feeling more than a bit embarrassed I pull myself up and proceeded inside. The trailer looked like I’d expect Formica kitchen, old flower pattern worn furniture. The only thing that stood out was a ladder sticking out in the middle of the living room. The ladder stark and industrial standing in contrast to the surroundings.

I looked around for the case and the owner. All I found was neatly made bed, and a pristine bathroom. A glance at the tracker told me the item was moving away from me underground. I wanted to avoid the suspicious ladder, which clearly would be a trap. After looking down the brightly lit tunnel I didn’t see anything obvious. Since, I couldn’t put off the inevitable any longer I started down.

Each step rang in a disturbing echo- clang, clang. My teeth ground together. Announcing my presence like this was completely unacceptable. Nothing that I could do about it. I couldn’t handle it anymore and I took a controlled slide to the ground. As I hit the ground my knees jarred a bit.

A gun in my hands and I scanned the area. Plain metal hallway went in both directions. As far as I could see there were no doors. Keeping my eyes up I pulled up the tracker. The package was toward the south. The word trap bounced around in my skull step after step.

The corridor opened up to a massive room. I stopped stunned as I stared a flying saucer. Apart of my mind yelled at me to be careful check the area, but shock rolled over me. I always thought the UFO stories were crap. And here one sat sparkling in the artificial light. The stomping of boots drew my attention.

Yeah, I messed up. About ten men surrounded me guns in hand, steely looking their eyes. They stood up in the unvarnished black. “Drop your weapon and turn yourself in.”

I thought about it. But, it wasn’t in my nature. I dropped and attempted to roll. The air filled with gunshots as they hit my chest, my legs, and arms. They weren’t screwing around. Heaviness filled my chest as I settled on my back. “Guess I’m not much of a ninja after all.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Babblings, Single Shot Stories, Writing Challenges

Leave a Reply

