Review: Servant of the Empire

Servant of the Empire by Raymond E Feist and Janny Wurst

Unlike the first book, this one starts on a light hearted note.  A bunch of foreigner slaves are tricking their masters.  The whole scene is extremely well done considering there is barely any dialog.  Now, this scene serves a very important purpose in the novel.  It sets many of the central themes of the novel.  One of which is Mara is an unconventional person, she likes wit, and doesn’t honestly care for the rules.  Two, she doesn’t see an inherent weakness in those of a lower station than her own.  Three, it begins the two men who pretty core  in the story to a strong highlight.

This book’s plot flows as well as the first.  Any hiccups are minor here as well.  The joint authors bring you into the world a bit more, and let you dig your teeth into.  Sometimes, I feel they over explain sayings that are pretty easy to interrupt, but I tend to think less is more.  For most people, this is probably a good thing.

Minwanabi, aka the bad guys, are not two dimensional or boring either.  They have their good points, and their bad.  Tasaio is to me, legitimately creepy, scary, and clever.  You gotta love a well done villain.

One of the main themes is really about the cultural differences between Kelewan and Midkemian.  The cultures are extremely different and hold up to an entirely different set of values.  And, the novel is good about highlighting that both have their positives and negatives.

This is what I love about the book.  There are thousands of cultures, subcultures, mixed cultures in the world.  And, in my opinion, they all have their pros and cons.  You can debate whether not how bad one is compared to another.  But, I want to know about other cultures, what they believe, and why believe in it.  To me this is fascinating and complex matter that always holds my attention.  That’s exactly what this book is.  What makes these two people different, when at their root they are all human?  And, what could make them better, what are their good points, what parts are bad?

It makes me wonder the way I define right and wrong.

Author’s Note-  Okay, so on Thursday was my 100th post.  I failed to realize this, because I was in the fourth phase of one my worst flus ever. Instead, yay, my 101th one post.  It’s been a crazy time, and it’s been fun.

Leave a comment

Filed under Review

Leave a Reply

