Dialog Excerise

For some reason there was no Chuck Wendig challenge this week.  Which is fine.  But, I decided to do something fun for writing practice. A quick dialog practice basically has two characters talking no tags, no descriptions, and no beats.

Dialog Exercise

“Have you now accepted that you are mine?”

“Lady, I don’t know what the hell your problem is.  But, you don’t own me.”

“I do.  You just don’t remember.”

“Don’t freakin’ touch me.  I pretty damn sure if somebody owned me, I’d remember.  That’s not something you write on a post it note and forget about.”

“It was long ago.  You pledged yourself to me.  Another lifetime ago.”

“What? Now you’re trying to tell me there is reincarnation.”

“I’m not attempting to tell you anything, Ricky.  I am merely stating facts.   Believe what you will.”

“I don’t believe you.  Let me out of this room.  I’ll start screaming, then some cops will bust this door down.  And, you’ll be knee high in it.”

“Scream all you wish.  It makes no difference.”

“Is that a freakin’ smirk? Are you smirking at me?”

“Your resistance is amusing.  You seek to intimidate me.”

“What aren’t you afraid of the cops, and jail?”

“There are places more terrible and damaging than Jail, Ricky.  Places most minds would break to be there.  I’ve been to all those places and emerged whole. “

“So, you’ve been to Goth clubs I get it.”

“I suspect you truly don’t.   No matter you are one of mine.”

“No, I’m not.  Whatever your name is, I’m not yours.”

“You know my name, Ricky.  When you can remember it, you’ll know I owe you.  I have patience, I can wait.”

“Yeah, well, I’m not patient.  I want to go home.  I want to drink a beer.  I’ve been here, what feels like forever.  This cramped room barely has a bed.  There’s no tv, no freakin’ internet.  Life without internet is pretty dark, unimaginable place.”

“Unfortunately, Ricky, to get those things you must remember my name.”

“How about Goth Princess?”

“Closer than you know.”

“Hey, where are you going? We aren’t done talking. You need to let me go.”

“I’m going to go drink a beer and use the internet, of course.  When you say my name, I’ll bring you one.”

“What an annoying kidnapper.”

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Babblings, Writing Challenges

Leave a Reply

