Walking in Shadow, Part 4

“Yeah, but you can do things normal Alaget can’t.  I’m not even sure how your abilities work.  Or, how the Soul Merchant’s could have given them to you.”  Her eyes widening as my skin stitched itself back together.

“I’m not fully certain either.”  The theory, I understood.  It took Soul People a long time to figure out how keep personality and traits consistent through each life time.  And, I gather, a lot of souls dissembled, and put back together to make me work they wanted.  Guilt hit me.  How many peoples’ souls had died to make me? I’d never know.  “I’m good enough to walk.”

A hop and Gulla was up.  She didn’t try to help me up.  This told me, she knew me too well.  “I’m starting to think this isn’t a good idea.”

My eyes blinked rapidly.  Gulla never acted unsure.  “Nothing you do is a good idea, why should today be any different?”

She flashed a grin before pulling out the map.  The blue-black paper pressed against the pitted metal wall, as her fingers traced patterns over it.  “The main lab should be nearby, up the hallway.  I couldn’t find any information on it.”  She shrugged at me before strolling down the hall.

Another companionable silence this time I was lost in thought.  Soul People had warned me twice in this lifetime.  And, both warnings had come due to some action involving Gulla.  They didn’t like her influence on me.   I hated the Soul People with every fiber of my stolen soul.  They used, and abused me without concern or care for how I’d feel about it.  They gave me commands, and never explained.  Soul People demanded I have a mind of my own, but became annoyed when I used it.  Gulla had been the only person to give me any peace.  Amass a contradiction that girl.  Brutal and caring, Vulnerable, and unbreakable, youthful excitement, and pain brought wisdom.   She was as much as a disaster as I was.

Gulla motioned for me to stop.  “The seal on the door is broken.”

I sent out my energy trying to read what’s in the room. My jaw clenched. “Noble guards, a lot of them.  They haven’t been there long.  We might not be able to take twenty of them.   They are too spread out for us to flank.  And, I bet they are on orders to keep us out, not kill us.”

“Ko, vaero nobles.” A hiss escaped her lips.  She kicked the door down, and screamed.  “Are you going to let me in here, or do I have to kill all of you.”

Fear lanced through me as I pressed myself behind a door frame.  I didn’t dare grab at her.  That would only anger her more.  “What are you doing?”  Even though, I knew.

The room went silent.  Instead ringing of gunshots, instead a voice shouted back.  “Gulla Valik, surrender, and submit to justice, and you won’t be harmed.”

Her emotions were so strong. I felt the memory of her family’s murder.  The rage twisted, as she sent it pounding it out an attacked followed by a generade.  “Never.”  Somehow, her voice echoed over the screams, and explosion.  She rolled into the room guns out.

I shook my feelings, and become one with the shadows.  They didn’t know I was here.  The room lights weren’t operationally, the room full of shadows.  A few would go down before I was discovered.  Shots rang out, no damage done yet.  Gulla knew how to wait.  The leader was would who I needed to find.  If I could take him out we would stand a fighting chance.  The problem was no one was talking.  And, my night vision was not nearly good enough to see individuals.  If I could see in the dark, I’d be able to tell the most enhanced person.  Their features always had an odd overly symmetrical appearance.  What I needed was for Gulla to annoy them.

Leave a comment

Filed under All About Gulla, Amon, Story Chains

Leave a Reply

