Walking in Shadow, Part 1

The drip, drip of water echoed all around me.  Gulla crawled on her knees slowly in front of me.  The slime, and whatever else was in this tunnel was being ground into my clothes.  “You are certain this the abandoned supply depot?”   Irritation escaped my rigid self control.

A short laugh replied as her eyes glinting in the dark.  Unlike me, she had night vision.  “You keep asking.”

“This tunnel is filthy.  And the last few tunnels did not lead anywhere fruitful.”  This was not the first disgusting tunnel I’d crawled in today.

“I’m more sure about this one, than any of others.” How could her voice should sound so cheery in these surroundings?

I didn’t dignify the words with a reply.  The only sounds were continued dripping of water, and the scrapping of Gulla’s shoes.  She could see in the dark, but I could always move silently.  The darkness began to lighten.  “Please tell me this is a good sign.”

“Oh yeah, it is.”  A grinding noise filled the air as the light blinded me.  “We have arrived.”

My eyes rolled, knowing she was merely being dramatic. From the plans she showed me we still had a long way to go.  The clang of her descending filled my ears as I waited for my eyes to adjust.  “How many obstacles?”

“Oh a few, and probably a few surprises.  That’s how it usually goes.”  There are times I find it strange that Gulla had to laugh in the face of death.  Death did not bother me, but she was reckless to the level of madness.  With a grunt I followed her down the steps clanging far less.

Gulla tapped the bar twice.  This was a signal to stop.  My voice pitched low.  “What is it?”

“Send your mind.” Her voice commanding.

The power contained within flowed outward.  It felt like the shackles on my body were broken.  They were milling bodies warm, and who were exerting a great of the muscle, “Armed, wearing armor, and about twelve of them.”

“Twelve.”  Gulla snorted.  “I thought this was going to be fun.”

“By the Sun, Gulla Valik you are an adult.  Could you feign maturity once?”  Annoyance sparked through.  Immediately, guilt set in. She was extremely mature.  But, her life had been too hard, and to cope she’d put on a laughing facade.

Instead of getting upset at outburst she lifted a brow.  “Did get your nap in today, I know how you old people are without your naps?”

A fought a smile, then laughed.  “I’m sorry.  I‘m dour in my ancient age.”

“How do you want to this?”  She stepped off the ladder into the narrow hallway.

“I’ll walk with the shadows.  How do you want to do this?”  The shadows veiled me as I exerted my will around me. Inky blackness wrapped around me, cool and calming. In truth it did not hide me, it only fooled the eye. Its influence skipped Gulla so she’d know my position.

“I’ll shoot them.  I was able to modify that old shield tech.  It will keep me alive allowing you to slip around the back.”  In her usual way, without waiting, she kicked down the door and started to fire.

Shouts, grunts, and screams of panic, anger, and pain echoed in the hallway.  A few bullets bounced off her shield before she ducked around the door frame.  I made my way around the back, and waited for her reach out and fire once again. As they engaged I sliced across the back of their necks severing their spines.  Four went down before they started to turn.  My hands found one of the bodies jerking it up and using it as a shield.  The bullets pounded into it as Gulla now flanked them, more dying.

The blood pooled under my feet. A close range shot blew my shield and I down.  A blade sliced out cutting off the tip of my finger.  A few more shots.  I heard a curse, and shuffle of feet.  “Gulla kill him, don’t wrestle with him.”

The noise stopped, and the body was thrown off me.  The sparse girl with long brown hair stood in the light covered with blood. “Ko, that guy was heavy.”

Leave a comment

Filed under All About Gulla, Amon, Story Chains

Leave a Reply

