The Rebel’s Rise, Part 4

Harl’s shout caused me to jump.  “Little girl, get over here and impress me.  If you can.”  

Gulla straightened her back and strutted over.  Arrogance apparent in every movement, with a flick of disdain toward Harl.  I could see the bravado, now, for what it was. 

Amaria stepped out of the shadows beside me.  “This I must see.”

 I glanced over my mind shocked at the warmth in her voice.  For once the many burdens she carried seemed lightened. Shocked cries caused my head to whip around as I felt my jaw swing open. 

 Gulla ran faster than my eye could follow through a field of sharp, broken metal.  As she jumped up to the suspended tube she lost her balance as a piece of metal gouged a part out of her leg.  She didn’t even pause.  She dug her knives into the plastic forcing her neck break speed even faster.  She flipped over the first wall by leaping out of the tube, landing on next barrier with a reverberating thud. Her arm pulled up the wall, and dashed up another wall.  She slipped off one the walls and crashed into the ground.

 I shot forward to help.  A hand pressed against my shoulder. “Don’t, Vallen.” Amaria’s silky voice flowed into my ears.

 Gulla stood up, wiped the blood off her face. Without a backward, glance she sprinted toward the beams.  A leap from one to the next with flawless moves. Off the final beam, she made a huge jump in the air, and landed with a bow.  Gulla limped toward AmariaAmaria wrapped her arm around Gulla.  Gulla straightened her dark eyes narrowed, she shouted.  “Did I impress you?”

 From even across the field I could see the scowl on his face.  Harl shouted back.  “Bring me the tech, girl!”

 “I’ll help heal your injuries,”  Amaria said.  She yanked her a knife from her belt. Her fingers pulled Gulla’s pant leg from her flesh. The knife sliced the fabric away. Amaria ran her fingers up and down Gulla’s leg.  The torn flesh started to knit together.

 Gulla brushed her off. “You worry too much, I’ll heal.”

 “I don’t think you worry enough.”  I could already see the bruises and welts rising on her skin.  “You are still young.”

 Gulla shrugged holding her shirt up to her nose.  She tugged it away for a moment. “I needed to show off and I did.  Goal accomplished.”

 Amaria let out a loud, protracted sigh.  “We should go get the tech from where ever you have hidden it. There isn’t much point in delaying the inevitable.” 

 I left them to go check on my men.  They had stopped working, and prepping the guns for tonight’s mission.  “Get back to it.”  Half of them jumped up as if caught.

 “Is that little thing really Gulla? Do you think she has the tech?”  One of the guys asked, his eyes round, and the light of hope touching his face.

 “Yes, and I don’t know.  But, that has nothing to do with tonight.  Don’t worry about tomorrow, because you still have to survive.  Get to it.”  The snap in my voice caused them to exchange nervous glances.  A bit of guilt hit me.  For so long we had been without hope.  However, being distracted would get them killed, I couldn’t have that.

 Harl bellowed for me.  I sent them one more intense glare before heading back to him. 

 His massive arms pressed against his broad chest.  “You are sure the girl is who she says she is?”

 “As sure as I can be.  She looks like Gulla, she talks like her, she has my sister’s smile.  Can I hundred percent guarantee, not really.  They alter genetics pretty heavily these days.  Who’s to say anyone is who they say they are.”  I batted my next comment around a bit before committing to it.  “Amaria wouldn’t have brought her around if she had any doubts.”

 Harl grunted. He never liked Amaria.  He might have if he didn’t know what she was.  She was more or less an alien who talked, moved, and behaved like an Alaget. At times I wish Amaria had only told me about her secret.  It would never sit well with Harl. Being a Star Child was curse enough. 

“She’s on our side.” My usual rebuttal to Harl’s doubts.

 His bushy brows flattened.  “I don’t know about that.”

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under All About Gulla, Amon, Story Chains

Leave a Reply

