What is a ‘Soul Merchant’?

Operative 3031 (Baccarin Toltos)
Operation DENIAL
Summary of long term surveillance.

Grand Lady Relbin,

As you requested I have been investigating the sudden appearance of ‘Soul Merchants’ cropping up on Amon. Most of the galaxy seems to know of their existence, but they are quite secretive. I was able to answer most of your concerns.

Soul Merchants appearance is due to our gaining affluence, power, and money within the Galaxy at large. However, they have been on our world the whole time, but only announce themselves formally once a planet or society is ‘sophisticated’ enough, in their opinion.

I was unable to confirm if in fact they can control and alter ‘souls’. They do grant increased abilities, behaviors, and other personality shifts. And, it typically only in exchange for taking another piece of person’s ‘soul’. I can’t confirm if it is a trick, a technology, or the truth.

You were also correct in recognizing their pattern of ‘contracts’ does not focus on any social, economic, or military status. Frankly, it confuses me. They might work with a deranged mad man, as much as a rich socialite.

I also was able to confirm the existence of ‘Star Children’ for you. I questioned a Soul Merchant for you. I was forced to do it in a illegal fashion, and I apologize for that. It told me, Star Children stop the Powerless, what they refer to everyone, but themselves, from ruining the galaxy.

I transcribed the short interview. The Soul Merchant killed itself before I could get more information.

Operative: Now that you’ve stopped screaming maybe we can a friendly chat.

Soul Merchant: You can only hurt this fleshy bag of waste. You cannot reach me.

O: If you are your own race why do you live in the bodies of every race in the galaxy?

SM: We have no dead flesh to live in. We only have the solace of true living realm.

*Note – Soul Merchant’s consider living as the afterlife, and death as life.

O: What if the Star Children?

SM: (laughter) They are our eyes, hands, and feet. They are made up of the Powerless. They don’t despise your empty lives like the Soul People do. They live and thrive like you. Unlike the Powerless they can only serve. Their souls are ours forever.

*note – Soul Merchants call themselves Soul People

O: You enslaved people’s souls for eternity for what purpose?

SM: Powerless are foolish, and wasteful. They killed our last home. If we aren’t careful you’ll do it again. All of you are so wasteful with your shallow, little lives.

O: Tell me more.

SM: No.

(I torture it for several more minutes)

SM: The body dies, Powerless. You live up to your name.

(Subject, unfortunately, dies)

I assure, High Lady Relbin, its body was in good condition. I believe it self terminated. I can’t confirm this due to local law officials I was unable to examine the body.

At this time of the message being sent I’m returning to Amon. If you wish to debrief me or send me back to the field let me know. My Life for the Queen of Amon.

1 Comment

Filed under Amon, Single Shot Stories

One response to “What is a ‘Soul Merchant’?

  1. Pingback: Flash Fiction: Bah Ra | Fatma Alici

Leave a Reply

