A Date for a Soul

This particular flash fiction challenge gave me a lot of trouble.  http://terribleminds.com/ramble/2013/07/19/flash-fiction-challenge-the-plot-scenario-generator/   We are suppose to use this random plot generator http://www.archetypewriting.com/muse/generators/plot.htm to come up a plot.

I got “protagonist goes on a blind date.  Another character is a date with secret powers.”  Which is a great deal of symmetry none the less it was a huge pain in the ass.

A Date for a Soul

The rich smell coffee tickled my nose. I straightened out the yellow carnation pinned to my dress. I looked around, and I didn’t see my date, who was suppose to have a matching carnation. I chewed on my lip before sliding into a booth close to the door. My friend Cyndi set me up with what she called ‘very available, very handsome man’. Yeah, right. If he was so great why is he on a blind date?

Then, he appeared. His hair dark and neatly trimmed. Very handsome with cool gray eyes. The carnation stood out starkly against his white dress shirt. Those soulful eyes rested on me. A warmth rushed through me. He took long strides before sitting in the booth. He held out his hand. “I’m Vincent, nice to meet you.” His tone was as cool and as detached as his eyes.

I gave him a firm handshake. “I’m Lily, I’m happy to meet you.” Inwardly, I groaned. Did I need to gush? I’m such a loser. Okay, I’ll admit it, I haven’t been on a date in a while.

He nodded as motioned at the counter. “You want some coffee, a pastry?”

“Sure, black coffee, and whatever looks good.” I felt a warm blush on my cheeks. I hadn’t even bothered to look at the menu.

He got up. I took a peek at his backside. Hard to check anything out in the slacks, but it was worth a shot. The place wasn’t busy he came back with a piece of chocolate cake, and two coffees. “It looked good.”

“Thanks, it does look delicious.” I took a sip of coffee to hide my awkwardness. I lifted the fork and cut off a small piece.

“Lily, before you eat that, I need to talk to you about something.” His hands glided across the table to hold mine.

My heart shifted to much faster speed. “Oh, what about?”

“This wasn’t exactly a blind date for me. I’ve known about you for a while. I’ve been wanting to meet you.” His eyes peered into mine.

I felt myself blushing and melting all at once. “Really?”

He did a half shake of his head. “Not like that. Cyndi set me on this date, because I wanted to offer you a deal. I’ve been waiting for this chance.”

The blood drained from my face. I tried to pull my hands away, but his grip held me tight. “Are you going to hurt me?”

A small chuckled escaped his throat. “Hardly. Stay calm. You only have to listen. Can you do that?”

My eyes flicked back and forth. “Okay.” I could scream if he got any weirder.

His eyes seemed to bore into me. “I appear to be a normal person. I’m not. I’m a soul broker. I know you aren’t happy with your life. I can change that for you.”

I couldn’t argue. I worked as graphic artist for a big firm. What I really wanted was to pursue my own art. For years I’d wanted to get married. And, since I went on a date once a year that wasn’t happening. “How would you change it?”

His thumbed rubbed my hand in circular motions. “Anyway you would want. Do you want money, fame, glory, opportunity? You tell me what you would really want, and I’ll tell you what it would cost.”

This is crazy, really crazy I thought. He had to be insane. Cyndi set me up with a date with an insane person. “If this is true, what did you give Cyndi?”

He smiled. “She got married last month to refined, and wealthly gentlemen she’d met only a month before. Do you think that sort of things happens without intervention?”

A whirlwind romance she’d told me. “I guess if your crazy nothing will happen.”I took a deep breath my lungs rattling. “I want to be able to work on my art. I don’t buy a lot, and I could even live in a studio. That’s all I ever wanted.”

“Easy enough. Here is your offer. Your soul has the potential to be a great mathetican. For this lifetime and one after I’ll keep it, then it shall return to you. And, what you desire will come to pass. “My hands were free. Vincent leaned in as if to give me a kiss. “Do you agree?”

“Yes,” I managed. Yep, I’d lost it. I was making deals with this unstable person in hopes he’ll actually take a part of my soul.  And, I was even excited about it.

He sat back as I felt a tug deep within me “You’ll be getting a phone call. Have a nice life, Lily.” With that he pulled out the booth and left.

I stared at the cake and took a bite. It didn’t settle my nerves like I hoped. My phone started to ring. I pulled it out my pocket the number was unfamiliar. An eerie feeling hit my spine and I swallowed hard. I slide my finger across the screen answering it.

“Is this Lily Williams?” A deep, male voice asked.

“Yes, it is. Can I help you?” I asked trying to keep my voice steady.

“I’m an estate lawyer. A Fredrick Collins has written you into his will. He passed away yesterday. I’d like to make an appointment with you tomorrow morning about it. Will you be free around nine?”

“I can make it at that time.” The benefit of working from home, your schedule was your own.

“I’ll be at three-five-eight Baker Street. I’ll see you then, have a good day.” The phone went dead. I blinked at it once. I lifted my eyes to the door. I started to believe.

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Babblings, Writing Challenges

4 responses to “A Date for a Soul

  1. I really like this story, but I can also sense that it was a little difficult for you to get out (even if I hadn’t known from your blurb) as it doesn’t feel as smooth and polished as some of your other pieces.

    I thought the premise was good and I liked the characters and their interactions, so I’m glad you eventually got it out there!

  2. It may have been tough to get out, but I really liked the concept. I’d be interested to see more of how this brokering works.

    • Vincent is actually based on a character I wrote for a short story I’m currently shopping around. Though, the protagonist of that one is much more fun this one. Thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

