I Fade Into You

This week challenge at Chuck Wendig’s blog http://terribleminds.com/ramble/2013/06/21/flash-fiction-challenge-another-roll-of-the-dice/ was a combination of choice and dice roll.  Pick your genres, and roll your requirements. I picked Dying Earth and Paranormal romance genre.  I rolled Forbidden Love, and a Feast.  

I tried out these genre’s because they are pretty unfamiliar to me.  I never write romance, and I end to never write anything about actual earth.  Though, sappy, and romantic I do like how it came out.  I hope you enjoy as well.

I Fade Into You

The Queen’s lecture still battered my ears. I, of course, was not interested in it. My love for the human girl, Charity, remained in full bloom. Hidden within the last, wondrous garden I watched her. Her shoulders heaved as she dug up dead, lifeless dirt.

Her blonde hair fell over her shoulder. Her lavender eyes peered in my direction. “Cadarn, come help me the soil bags are heavy.”

I pushed out of the carrot patch flowing upward to smile at her. “The soil feels dead to me, it is made with science, not with magic. To hold it is painful.”

I said it to see her roll her eyes, which she did with a flip of her hair. “It is not such thing. It is uncomfortable, not painful. You can’t laze around in the garden all day. Dad is barely tolerating you here as it is.” Her browned fingers pointed at the heavy canvas bags resting on the cracked ground.

A small casting tied up my hair in a long braid. I hauled up the bags filling in the trench with black soil. The land would no longer produce food naturally. The world was dying, and the Sidhe with it. The humans barely scraped by. “He does not like that I cannot help him with his science beasts.” I frowned. “He has little regard for magic. I find his attitude toward it quite distasteful.”

The golden laugh filled my heart with joy. “He’s a biochemist; he’s not going to appreciate magic. What did the Queen want to talk to him about anyway?”

My joy fled and a great winter settled over me. We were going to have a feast, the last feast. All of magic would be spent to have a lavish spread. Then all the Sidhe would fade back into the Earth. A year did not seem long enough to spend with beautiful Charity. But, I agreed I did not wish to slowly die. Go out in a blaze of glory, the Queen said. “The Queen wanted to throw a party to show her appreciation for helping take care of our people, and by having this lovely garden. Nature keeps us alive, we need nothing else.”

“Oh, so in a few hours my belly will be full for once?” Her whole being lightened like a spring cloud. Lying to her was worth it for that moment. One last magnificent dinner gazing into each other’s eyes before the end.

The Queen stepped out of the house. With Charity’s dad behind her. His voice carried with his exacting tones. “I don’t know. It seems like an unnecessary waste of resources. We are making progress, but who knows how long it will last?”

The Queen gave him a regal smile. “Devin, you worry so. It takes nothing to make the food except magic. There will be food enough for weeks, perhaps longer. You could conserve your own food.” Her eyes dropped down. She let her ginger hair to cover her eyes. “Do this for me, Devin. It is all I ask.”

Charity put a hand on her hip. “Dad…” She dragged the word out. “I’d like to enjoy a feast, we have been living off carrots, potatoes, and turnips for two months.”

“Fine, we’ll be there in an hour.” He snapped before rushing back into the housing. The sun radiated intense heat, and his skin crisped easily.

Queen lifted her head. Her gaze met mine. A question asked without words, ‘Did you tell her?’

‘No, I did not.’ My look carried equal weight.

The hour passed easily. Human company is lighter and more easy than Sidhe. Together we walked to the feast. I livened up the short journey with singing traditional music.

As we reached the small cavern filled with mushrooms, and moss Sidhe voices answered in reply filling the air with sweet music of the land. All of them stepped out in thin gossamer. The Sidhe were a vision of loveliness. “Come, sit, feast with us.”

Tonight, the cavern was alight with bright orbs, plants flickered with magic. Sing-in-Day voice drifted over us in time with the lights. The table filled with stuffed squash, fresh smelling bread, and fried vegetable cakes. The humans stuffed their mouths full, and found more food waiting. A young Sidhe filled tall glasses with a sweet wine heady with life. Devin, who frowned often at the Sidhe, laughed and it seemed his burdens had lifted.

Charity’s hand slipped across the table around mine. Her eyes sparkled and her skin glowed. The sun would have felt envy of her luminous perfection. She tugged on my hand. “Let’s dance!”

On this last night I would deny her nothing. I swept her up in my arms as we whirled on a luminescent moss. As our lips melded my magic, my life poured into her. I spun my love, desire, hopes, and dreams around her. My life would not return to the land, it would only go to Charity.

With a gulp she pulled away from the kiss. “Wow, what was that!” She wrapped her arms around me sighing contently into my shoulder. “Whatever it was, it was amazing.” Her body molded to mine.

Over her head I saw many humans dancing with the Sidhe. Their graceful dance was like petals floating in the wind. The dance sped up as Sidhe tossed the humans around with wild moves. The lights flared up brighter. The final stanza of the mourning song began, the end drew near.

Charity lifted her head to watch. “You aren’t thinking of tossing me around, are you?” Her voice teased me. She butted my chest with her forehead.

“When I forsake the Sidhe for you, I lost some of my magic, my love.” I replied my form started to pale, and disappear. I seized her for one last kiss. I lost my substance. All that was left was my voice. “I’ll love you until you are gone, until there is nothing left.” And then, my soul wrapped around the one who held my heart.

2 Comments

Filed under Babblings, Writing Challenges

2 responses to “I Fade Into You

  1. Lovely story. Sappy, but not overly so. Very reminiscent, in some ways, of Tad Williams’ War of the Flowers, but also very unique. The world you’ve created, a blending of magic and technology, has been an enjoyable place to visit! Great job.

    • Thanks! I go in for sappy so I somewhat of a hard time muddling through it. I was in my weekly Write In making faces at my laptop the whole way through. Glad to have done it, and for stepping out of my comfort zone.

Leave a Reply

