Planet of Jirth, Part 5

I should be more upset to leave Jirina, but the planet was hot, muggy, and dark. And, the Jirth were hard to understand. At told me about the other people in the enclave, which I learned was a small space station orbiting Jirina. Two were Runnil, one his mate, and his other brother.

One called Viirra was a Pirfectia. At allowed me to look up the profile on her. She seemed much like my own people, but very pale, white skinned, with pastel pink hair, and eyes. Short, with a very slight figure, but the profile also noting she had many companions. “Companions?”

At gave me a grim nod. “Pirfectia are a blended race these days.”

“Blended race?” I knew the meaning of both words, but I had no idea how they could relate.

“They live, and work with another race called the Krickiktar, who are instectoid race, who breed in huge hives, and are controlled by a queen. However, a disease swept over their race, killing most of the queens. Pirfectia have great mental control. They took the place of the queens for hive control. And, since the Pirfectia have been having many genetic problems, the Krickiktar help out with it.” At nose wiggled, which I had come to learn it meant he was disturbed.

The whole thing puzzled me. “How do they breed with insects?”

The laugh from At threw me off, I had grown used to the hooting, but I wasn’t sure why it was funny. “They don’t. They just control the hive. Without a voice to tell them do anything the lower level ones, do nothing. It’s somewhat complicated, but the two races need one another, but not for breeding.”

“I’m not sure, if I’m understanding, but her companion is a Krickiktar?” That, at least, I could follow.

At gave me a consoling pat on the shoulder. “Yes.”

The next alien called a Tarvin called Kall. It looked as if someone had blended a lizard with a slug. The upper body, had two tiny arms, toward the bottom of it’s torso, a long bulbous tail, and no legs. The head had a long narrow face, with large ball shaped eyes. A line of circles ran down torso, and down it’s back. “Tarvin. That is the strangest thing I’ve ever seen.”

Tarvin’s are strange, even to me. I might have to adjust your translator, because they don’t talk in the traditional sense. They use chemcials to flash light on those circles to communicate. Let me know how it works when we get there.” At responded as I could see the station getting closer.

I was already missing the Jirth.

After docking I walked out into a large, gray room filled with a variety of furniture. Viirra stood in room. In person, she seemed even shorter. Her pale pink hair braided, and she wore a matching skin tight suit. A glance over her shoulder, before striding over to us. A black tall creature covered in thick black plates, moved a few feet behind her.

“Hello, I’m Rilas.” I blurted out before anyone else could talk.

Viirra gave a cool nod. “I am Viirra of Hive Tirkite, of Kiruck.” She motioned toward the black figure. “That is my companion, do not address him directly. All of us have heard about you. At has said, in a couple of days, he hopes to do the procedure to activate your latent abilities.”

“A what?” I gave At an incredulous expression.

He ducked his eyes. “I was going to talk to you about it first, of course. It was an idea I had is all. If it works, well, let’s get you settled in first.”

Viirra seemed to stare at him with utter focus. “I see. Yes, I agree, let’s get you settled before we start messing around in your brain.”

“Thanks.” It didn’t seem to right response, but it was all that occurred to me.

She smiled. “I apologize, we are used to being in each other’s minds. But, all of us have same Mental abilities. There are many different kinds.”

“At explained to me, some of the varieties, but not in great detail.” I gave him a suspicious look. “He worried it might be too much absorb in my current state.”

Before our discussion could grow more heated, two more of Runnil ran in. Tall, furred, with strange elongated faces they made yipping sounds. Other than no words were exchanged as they hugged in one huge pile. I figured, without being told, it’s because of their telepathic ability.

A snap of fingers caught my attention. Viirra waved me toward her. “I’m sure, his forgotten your existence for now. I’ll take you to your room.”

I swallowed, but went along. Some of the old fear beat against my skull, but I pushed it down. Once again, I reminded myself I’d seen things that a few months ago I couldn’t have imagined. A little worry and fear were an easy price to pay for it. With new resolve I made it to my room without breaking down crying. What an accomplishment.

Leave a comment

Filed under Amon, Rilas and Jirth, Story Chains

Leave a Reply

